Non-Japanese manga

32
So a lot of the younger generation of otaku seem to always dream off making their own manga series. So my question to you is, do you read Non-Japanese manga? Though they are few I do find some that really interest me. The one above happens to be one of them. Though it can be slow at times and the art may not attract everyone, I really appritiate it’s individuality. Tokyopop actually made the first book into an imanga on their youtube account here: Bizenghast playlist .Tokyopop is one of the few companies that I see take these leaps into American manga. Other non-Japanese series that they helped get out in the market are Fool’s Gold, Dramacon, and Orange Crows.

Their is also a certain non-Japanese manga that seems to be just as popular as Japanese manga sometimes which is Manhwa. Manhwa is just basically Korean manga. I haven’t read any Manhwa myself, but I know that one will definitely grab my attention someday.

So have you ever read non-Japanese manga?

8 Responses to “Non-Japanese manga”

  1. Snark Says:

    I’m a big fan of OELs (original english language). Right now I’m reading Svetlana Chmakova’s Nightschool, which is one hell of a doozy.

    Not too big on Korean mahnwa though, I’ve read a few and they’ve never really left a positive impression on me.

    • gordanham Says:

      NightSchool looked really interesting when I saw it while flipping threw a Yen+ mag. It’s from the creator of Dramacon right?

      • Snark Says:

        Yeah, its obviously fairly different from Dramacon, but you can definitely feel that its by the same author.

        Its pretty much an anime Buffy really =P

  2. Selvinas Says:

    I’ve read some manhwa. Some I like, some I didn’t. But what I do know is that I hate english/american manga. I don’t like the drawings, don’t like the story.
    Maybe I just haven’t come across the right one. Or maybe there isn’t one fit for me.

    • gordanham Says:

      A lot of them don’t suit my taste either. But I do think you will find one you really like someday^^

  3. Selvinas Says:

    Yeah it’s in Yen+. But for now I’ll stick with the Asian ones xD

  4. lovelyduckie Says:

    I’ve recently started getting into some manhwa (Goong, The Queen’s Knight, etc…). I also read Nightschool and Max Ride, I like them but I’m not sure I would pay to read volumes of them if they weren’t a part of Yen Plus. I’m especially liking Sarasah and Jack Frost though, will pay for volumes of those.

    I have nothing against graphic stories that come from outside Japan, but I don’t normally seek them out.

  5. oneandonlyjem Says:

    Nope. Well, if I did, I would have no idea, but I’m definitely open to new things. I remember hearing some good feedback on some Korean manga that I saw whose name alludes me for the moment. My first impression of said manga was the beautiful art style.

Leave a Reply

